Questions of possible future emt

Kristina howell

Forum Ride Along
sorry if this is the wrong place to post.

I'm currently a CNA I'm doing pre reqs for nursing but anatomy is ridiculous and I'm tired of being in school ( I got a different degree and changed my mind and went back to school so sense 2013) I was thinking of becoming an emt and then a paramedic. I have some questions though.

What are the work schedules like? I heard 48 hours straight?

What is pay like? I work in tacoma Washington. If that matters.

Is it something you can do your whole life? Or will your body give up on you.

Are there different areas to go into or is it all riding around in an ambulance?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
sorry if this is the wrong place to post.

I'm currently a CNA I'm doing pre reqs for nursing but anatomy is ridiculous and I'm tired of being in school ( I got a different degree and changed my mind and went back to school so sense 2013) I was thinking of becoming an emt and then a paramedic. I have some questions though.

What are the work schedules like? I heard 48 hours straight?

What is pay like? I work in tacoma Washington. If that matters.

Is it something you can do your whole life? Or will your body give up on you.

Are there different areas to go into or is it all riding around in an ambulance?

1: going to depend on your area and company/department. Some are 10hrs, 12hrs, 16hrs, 24hrs, 48hrs, 72hrs. It really just depends.

2: pay is complete **** compared to nursing. Nursing pay is twice as much as a starting medic or even more.

3: if you find a good department that has everything you want then yes you can retire from it. We have several medics at my company who have been working for +25 years.