Questions about relocating to NYC

nnemtp

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone! I’m moving to New York City in July and I would need some advice about finding a medic job there.
So I graduated from medic school and got my NREMT-P in 2017 and has been a 911 medic for one year. My wife and I decided to move to NYC, so I already obtained my NYS EMT-P card, but still studying for the REMAC and will challenge it once I get there.

I’m hoping to work for a service that runs 911 calls. I know that except NYFD some hospital-based and private services runs 911 calls, but not certainly sure which one really does. I wonder if you could kindly name a few for me. And I really need some advice or recommendations about which one is good to start out with, or frankly which service has the most ideal pay, shifts and OTs to make a living in NYC.

Another question is, my AHA ACLS and PALS expires in September, do I have to maintain the “AHA” certs to get a job in NYC. Or things like "https://www.aclsmedicaltraining.com/new-york-acls-pals-bls/" would be okay. Does companies over there cares a lot about whether if it's AHA a lot?

Thank you so much for your time and help, I really appreciate it!

!

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
First off, read this post: https://emtlife.com/threads/new-york-ambulance-system-how-does-it-work.47713/#post-675688

That thread should give you a little bit of understanding to how FDNY EMS works.