Questions about paramedic experience and jobs.

Righteous

Forum Probie
Hello, instead of multi-posting I'll just ask a bunch of questions here. Feel free to answer all or some.

I've been an EMT-I in at a busy 911 center for approximately 5.5 years. I finally got my medic! All 150 questions $@#$%.

Anyways, I was was fired from my job and can never return. Too many tardies. I've learned my lesson (being unemployed for 2 months will do that)

That being said , some general employment questions and some questions about advancing in my field.

1. What am I supposed to say on applications? My policy is brutal honesty because I'm not smart enough to be a liar and I generally feel bad when I do it. This is my first time being unemployed since entering the work force some 12 years ago. I've been going with "too many tardies" on my applications but things want me to go in depth and what not.

What do employers think when they read that? Suggestions?

2. I thought I might as well get my critical care transport cert...( FP-C correct?) I've been told by many sources that there is no practical portion to the test. So...while I have no doubt in my ability to get this certification, I would like to know how to use a vent/iv pump/ whatever else is required in that field.

What kind of jobs can I look at to get that kind of experience. Keep in mind I have 5 years as an EMT-I (where I teched the majority of our calls) but nothing as a paramedic. Do they do apprenticeship programs where I could work for less/ no pay and get some experience? I'd like more than a piece of paper telling someone I passed a test.

3. Recommend any other certs/skills I should obtain that will be useful?

4. Wtf are "epinephrine serum levels" and how do they correlate to glucose levels?

5. Where are some good/cool places to work? Places with advanced/ progressive ems. Places that take our profession seriously and are currently hiring.