PHRN transfer to EMT-P in other states?

RegMurse12

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone,
I was referred to this forum from allnurses.com. I'm a PICU nurse and volunteer EMT-B in PA and I'm in the process of getting my Prehospital RN here. I'm currently looking at other PICU/NICU/Pedi ED jobs in PA and TX. If I end up moving to Texas, do you know if I would be able to get my PHRN certification transferred to a paramedic license in Texas. I have an EMT-B license in Texas right now. I don't want all that time/work going into the PHRN exam to go to waste. I'm really just trying to use my license to do more volunteer work at an ALS level.

Thanks!

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
I don't know about Texas in particular, but I've never heard of a place that will automatically transfer an RN to Paramedic. You could take an RN-Medic bridge course, which should be fairly painless.

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
OP
OP
R

RegMurse12

Forum Ride Along
Thanks for replying Chaz.
A little more background on the PHRN certificate...we are required to take the NREMT Paramedic assessment exam to receive certification and licensure. Do you think reciprocity would occur with that in mind?

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
I don't know about Texas in particular, but I've never heard of a place that will automatically transfer an RN to Paramedic. You could take an RN-Medic bridge course, which should be fairly painless.

Some states do allow this. Its not national that I am aware of but a state to state basis. How I feel about it is a whole other topic ;)

reaper

Working Bum
If FL an Rn can challenge the state exam, as long as they have their EMT-B. Tx may be same way. Call the state board and ask.

ExpatMedic0

MS, NRP
A little more background on the PHRN certificate...we are required to take the NREMT Paramedic assessment exam to receive certification and licensure. Do you think reciprocity would occur with that in mind?