Newbie Introduction

wxduff

Forum Crew Member
Hi Everyone, my name is Evan, and I'm currently taking my EMT-B and riding my schools volunteer ambulance. While my major is meteorology I'm currently taking my EMT-B at school for credit. I've always been interested in EMS, and it runs in my blood. My father used to drive for the local volunteer department. My corp runs three levels of training, Attendant, Driver, and Helper. I'm clearing helper this week, as I've already gotten my perfect call (took vitals, helped with paperwork, helped...) Next would be driver until I get my EMT. I'm trying to decide whether I want to stay at cleared at helper or go into training as a Driver. I'm thinking the experience as a helper might be more up my alley.

I'm really looking forward to becoming an EMT. I've always been interested in helping others. Although I have no previous EMS experience, I'm an Eagle Scout, and have a lot of basic first aid and lifesaving skills. I really like the idea of helping people, as well as having the ability to prove myself.

I'm happy because my EMT pants come this week (even though the unhemmed 37" inseam is about 9" to long...), and I'll really look like my attendant. Right now I'm wearing jeans for my shifts, and sneakers. I got a pair of Herman Survivor Boots today. My dad says he loves his old pair, so I picked some up.

I'm curious if anyone here volunteers as a first responder. My local volunteer fire department (the same one my dad drove for) dropped their ambulance years ago. Now all they have is a first response unit. I want to join there too, so I have a year round EMS involvement. The problem is I go away to school. Do you think the average department would welcome someone like me who is only around for summer and winter?