New EMT, don't understand a couple of calls.

VirginiaEMT

Forum Lieutenant
Hello,

I am new here to the forum and to being and EMT. I need some help, maybe I am just a gung-ho rookie EMT, maybe I don't understand, or maybe I'm right, but I have a couple of questions about calls I recently ran with anothe AIC.

1.What is hyperglycemia? It is my thought that it simply means an excessive blood gluose level. The patient had a D-stick of 175, he said normal is around 120. He was laying on a bench at Wal-Mart, with an altered LOC, but signed a patient refusal because he was feeling better and didn't want to go with us.

As I was questioning the AIC, who is an EMT-E, he said he wasn't hyperglycemic, that is blood sugar simply spiked because it was originally low, and when he ate it shot up.

I thought anything above a 140, for anyone is considered hyperglycemic?

2. We ran an attempted suicide, female with incisions on both wrist. Very deep blood bleeding was almost clotted upon our arrival, but not completely.

The AIC started asking her questions about WHY she did it, and started telling her that suicide was no way out, and I'm thinking "who gives a crap, let's fix her" first. Here's the questions I have:

A. I controled bleeding on right wrist, and bandaged, no problems encountered. The left wrist was still slightly bledding, not an artery bleed, I place a dressing on it and elevated. I asked the AIC to open another 4x4 because she was bleeding through the original, and I was going to place another one on top, and continue direct pressure. The AIC said no, that I didn't want to do that because I was "over-dressing it", she said she was told by our OMD, to simply leave the original, and push down on the bleed harder, with the thumb. Again. this was venous bleeding. What do you feel is the right answer.