New 68W Training

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Perhaps I'm behind the times, but my new guys were trained to start performing interventions like saline locks before even a rapid trauma assessment, instead performing only an extremity and torso blood sweep, and well before any patient packaging, evacuation concerns, or further evaluation. Not only that, but they've apparently only learned '500mL of Hextend if there's no radial pulse!' and no other fluids, meds, proper assessment techniques...it's scary.

These kids are going to be at war in 12 months and they can't even start IVs in classroom conditions, much less perform proper trauma assessments, and the less said about medical problems, the better.

seanm028

Forum Lieutenant
When I graduated in April '10 that's not how it was. Granted there wasn't quite as much pharmacology as I would have liked, but I guess that is more of a unit-specific skill.

OP
OP
RocketMedic

RocketMedic

I'm really, really disappointed in Fort Sam's education. Even new civilian EMTs are better at their jobs than these new medics, even confronted with similar problems.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
I'm pretty sure the new TCCC guidelines say 500 of Hextend then 500 more if no effect and that's the max, but don't quote me on it.

That's still no excuse for what they are teaching though.

OP
OP
RocketMedic

RocketMedic

TCCC guidelines say that, yes, but these medics don't even know what Hextend is, much less how to use it appropriately.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
TCCC guidelines say that, yes, but these medics don't even know what Hextend is, much less how to use it appropriately.

Fail. Not on your part, just to be clear.

DocCheddar

Forum Ride Along