Needing to Vent

crazycajun

Forum Captain
I don't normally complain about much. I usually tend to do my job and keep to myself. But tonight was one of the worst off duty experiences I have ever had. A friend called needing some help in a neighboring county. On my way I came across an MVC that had just happened. 68 yo male driving an early 80's caprice ran into a stationary tractor in a blind curve traveling 55 mph. Quick assessment showed rapid shallow breathing, BP 170 over 100 and elevated pulse at 120 bpm. Small lacerations to the face with a chief complaint of severe neck pain. I immediately slid in behind him and manually brought his neck to neutral keeping him stabilized until further assistance arrived. First on scene was a volunteer FF for the local FD. He was in a rescue unit so I assumed he had supplies. I informed him I was an EMT in the next county and gave him a quick rundown. I asked for a c collar and spine board to secure the patient so we could begin trying to get his feet free from the brake pedal. (collapsed on top of feet trapping them). The first thing this kid tells me is that I need to get away from his scene! I was speechless at first but held my composure and again asked for the things I needed. I told him once again that I was a certified EMT and my duty was to take care of the patient. He then proceeded to tell me that he didn't care if I was the president! This was his scene and I needed to leave or he would have me arrested. I then got rather upset and against my nature I let him have a few choice words I don't normally use and told him to call whoever he needed because I wasn't leaving the patient. He then walked away and sat in his truck until other members of his department and EMS arrived about 10 mins later. Fortunately I knew both the medics on the wagon and I was able to get what I needed. Once the patient was secure I turned him over to the medics and found the kids captain on scene. I told him what had happened and all he would