need advice

NJnewbie

Forum Crew Member
I've been wanting to get into the medical field for quite some time but was never able to due to money, time, etc. Now I'm at a point in my life where I can get into it, but I'm wondering what is the best way to go about it. I am 43 and have a good career in a completely unrelated field, but I feel very unfulfilled. I live around the corner from my town's rescue squad and am thinking of joining. It's strictly volunteer, but would getting my EMT-B be a good way to break into the field? I thought about nursing, but the nursing schools here only seem to be interested in kids right out of high school and I'm certainly not in that category.

Also, I haven't been to school in many years so is the EMT-B course very intense? Is it possible to go through the course while working full time?

Thanks

RESQ_5_1

Forum Lieutenant
I got my EMT-B in CA in 2000 when I was 32. I worked full-time as a security guard at the time. I'm not sure what the class is like now. I'm 42 now and find that Generally we have an advantage over people that are younger by way of our maturity and the fact that we will put in a maximum effort with few distractions.

rescue99

Forum Deputy Chief
I've been wanting to get into the medical field for quite some time but was never able to due to money, time, etc. Now I'm at a point in my life where I can get into it, but I'm wondering what is the best way to go about it. I am 43 and have a good career in a completely unrelated field, but I feel very unfulfilled. I live around the corner from my town's rescue squad and am thinking of joining. It's strictly volunteer, but would getting my EMT-B be a good way to break into the field? I thought about nursing, but the nursing schools here only seem to be interested in kids right out of high school and I'm certainly not in that category.