NCTI San Diego

MikeM

Forum Ride Along
Hello all. Has anyone heard anything about the NCTI Medic program in San Diego?

I'm looking to apply because they don't have any work experience requirements and I'm a newly-certified EMT-B. I just got hired on an IFC ambulance, so I'll have about 6 months experience by the time the class comes up if I get accepted. I've always been a good student with good study habits (finished #1 in EMT class) so I'm confident that I will be able to do well in medic school as long as my pt interaction skills get good work with my company. But, I haven't really heard any good things regarding NCTI in San Diego. Any insight?

Thanks.

SanDiegoEmt7

Forum Captain
NCTI is what it is. They teach their classes and do their clinical time in Alvarado Hospital, not the finest hospital in my opinion. I'm not sure if their ride-alongs, and eventually internship, are limited to AMR or not, but they very well may be, as the handful of NCTI students I know only spend time on AMR rigs. Lastly, think about the caliber of EMT that will be present in your cohort. I personally don't think I would like to go to medic school with EMT-B's who have little to no experience in the field. I know this doesn't necessarily effect the education you will receive, but its something I would consider.