MVA and spinal immobolization

chri1017

Forum Probie
I'm a new EMT and my region has a very poorly written selective spinal immobilization protocol. I was wondering where do most people draw the line when it comes to back boarding a patient following an MVA. Who would you and who wouldn't you board?

MSDeltaFlt

RRT/NRP
I would suggest using the search function. There was a recent thread that continued for several pages on this very subject.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Look up NEXUS and the Canadian C-Spine Rule.

Christopher

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm a new EMT and my region has a very poorly written selective spinal immobilization protocol. I was wondering where do most people draw the line when it comes to back boarding a patient following an MVA. Who would you and who wouldn't you board?

Call it Spinal Motion Restriction and you'll have an easier time not placing a patient on a rigid spine damaging device.

Selective SMR protocols exist to help you to identify Low Risk patients. Pay attention to your exact criteria, but they're usually likely something like NSAID (from NEXUS):

(N)eurological deficit?
(S)pinal tenderness along midline?
(A)ltered level of consciousness?
(I)ntoxicated?
(D)istracting injury?

If all of these are "No", then your patient is at a very low risk for a spinal injury to be found via imaging. Practically this means you can overtriage for who needs SMR using these criteria.

I would say if you incorporate "NSAID" with the following you'll be pretty good:

(1) Ambulatory patients without complaints get no board/c-collar
(2) Patients who can self extricate get no board/c-collar
(3) Patients without complaint who remain in a vehicle get no board/c-collar
(4) Patients with physical exam findings consistent with the mechanism of injury get board/c-collar
(5) Patients with physical exam findings inconsistent with the mechanism of injury get a detailed examination prior to board/c-collar

... and the most important one of them all ...