Memories of Paramedic School

Carlos Danger

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Paramedic school was long enough ago for me (I graduated in June of 1999) and my life has been busy enough since then that I've gotten pretty foggy on most of the details. But I do remember being really excited about the program and very proud when it was over, so it always makes me reminisce a little when people on here are all excited about school and freaking out over how hard it's going to be, etc.

I took EMT-B on my own while still on active duty in the military. Despite having absolutely ZERO EMS experience - I had never even seen the inside of an ambulance as an EMT - just before I left the Army I applied to a paramedic program in the same area that my wife was going to be starting her engineering program that following fall. Back then you had to call and ask for an application packet, and they mailed it to you, and you filled it out by hand as neatly as you could, and then you mailed it back. And you had to go to the public library to use a computer to type an essay as part of the application. That part of the process alone took weeks. Eventually they mailed you a letter that said whether or not you were accepted.

So I left the Army in Dec 1997 having recently mailed my application in and really not thinking I'd be accepted. My wife and I stayed with her parents until July, when we would move to the new place. She was going to community college full-time, getting a head start on her credits. I was going part time and working on farms and trying to figure out what I was going to do if I wasn't accepted into paramedic school.