MEDICAL MISSION TRIP ABROAD

Deacs2017

Forum Probie
Hi there,
I am an EMT with a passion for serving especially in impoverished communities. I have always wanted to serve on a medical mission abroad. Does anyone know of organizations that do medical missions or need EMS professionals for medical programs abroad?
Thanks!

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
There are several, most if not all of which you have to pay several thousand to participate.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

OP
OP
D

Deacs2017

Forum Probie
There are several, most if not all of which you have to pay several thousand to participate.

Do you know any of the organizations by name?

E tank

Caution: Paralyzing Agent
There's plenty of impoverished zip codes right here and it's "free" to serve them. Appalachia, Oakland CA, LA county, Detroit MI, Chicago IL, parts of AL, MS, AR. No need to leave the continental USA. That's great if you do that, but you don't have to...they're not living in mud huts, but they need help.

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
There's plenty of impoverished zip codes right here and it's "free" to serve them. Appalachia, Oakland CA, LA county, Detroit MI, Chicago IL, parts of AL, MS, AR. No need to leave the continental USA. That's great if you do that, but you don't have to...they're not living in mud huts, but they need help.
And you know, most of my EOAs...

Bakersfield has a 23% unemployment rate, and was just rated "worst hit by poverty" by something I saw on Facebook and didn't bother to verify.

Summit

Critical Crazy
It is extremely unlikely you will find any organization willing to pay your way because you are an EMT... or that will let you work as one.

Reactions: NPO

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
As I posted in another thread, projectmedishare.org and empactnorthwest.org are both involved with EMS and emergency medicine in Haiti. I went a few years back and had an amazing experience.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief