Medic to RN...

RunnerDoug87

Forum Ride Along
Hi, probably get a spanky for this but didn't want to jump in to the person's post below me on this topic.

I have been trying for 3 yrs and next yr will be 4 yrs to get into an RN program. Imagine 1000 people applying for a program that only takes 60 people. It is like throwing darts blindfolded with small odds in hitting the bullseye.

Keep getting waitlisted. My work is good enjoy it I am a psych tech make decent money about $20 an hour can't complain about that.

Only few downsides are have to travel 400 miles a week. I could work closer to home but take a bigger cut in pay or if I rent closer to work rent will skyrocket ($1200 or more for a studio/Compared to $800/$900 in area living in). Also live in a high taxed State. Last year made about $48K took about $34K home after taxes that's just income not counting property taxes. Be great to move to a lower cost of living State. Tried but have nothing to my name outside of a Bachelor's degrees and not much panned out.

Anyways was an EMR years ago. I went for my EMT Training shortly after, but never licensed up. Has to be 8 yrs since and didn't get my license due to landing a hospital job back then.

I was thinking of going for my EMT cert then Medic then RN. I read there is a lot of flexible programs out there for Medic to RN.

You ask why Medic not LPN. Know LPN be an easier transition. However, three things factor in Medic program is about $15K to $20K cheaper than the LPN programs in my State living in. The medic program is super flexible and can work full time still. I work variable shifts (D/E/N/W) you name it. Third every year...well they closed the medic program at the hospital currently work at. However, the hospital falls under a larger health organization in my State. That health network has a medic program. If you do any training programs through the hospital as long as you meet the minimum requirements you automatically are guaranteed entry.