Medic School

Alpha752

Forum Crew Member
Howdy all. I just got accepted to Paramedic class. I know this has been discussed before, but I kinda wanted to give any new members teh chance to help out a poor kid.

So.... any suggestions? Comments? Anything at all?

I am currently an NREMT-B, but have had difficulty securing employment in EMS. Since basic jobs arnt working out for me, I decided to go straight to medic school. I know that at least a year of basic is recommended before Medic, but I think that I will be able to handle it. Plus, a lot of FD's around here require Medic, but will train FFI. So, Im allmost at my goal of FireFighter/Paramedic.

So, any comments or suggestions are welcome, and wish me luck, class starts Aug 23rd.

Thanks,
Russ

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Alpha752,

CONGRATS! I'm an EMT-B, but most of my partners are going though a Paramedic program. All the fire departments around here require FF/Medic, so most FF/EMTs go on to the medic program.

Have you run any calls as a Basic? You'll have a ton of clinicals as a medic, so I wouldn't be too worried there. One thing though, I've found EMS to be one of those jobs that requires just as much hands-on experience as book knowledge. I'd try to get in some ride-alongs in an ALS unit so you can get more experience.

Hopefully others that have been through the program can offer some more advice. Congrats on getting into the program, and I really hope you come back here often and keep us updated!

Good Luck!

rescuecpt

Community Leader Emeritus