Lapsed EMT, what to study..?

firerescue511

Forum Ride Along
I am a firefighter, have been since 97. In 99 I decided to take and EMT class, but never really did anything with it, really I just wanted it, so I would be useful, as a first reponder on MVAs. I let my cert go, but am getting it renewed as soon as I can find a CPR class somewhere. But I would like to know where I can find stuff to study to get up to par, or close to or my EMS knowledge, or at least trauma stuff. Anything I may encounter on MVAs. I have encoutered calls lately, the local ambulance knows I am going for my EMT cert again, and they also are kind of testing my knowledge and I feel very inadequate. I have been reading my brady EMT book, and I have a Suander EMT prehospital care book and review. Anything else, anyone could suggest. I really would appreciate it.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Welcome to the forum!

Here is what I used for my EMT class, and I really wouldn't do it any other way. When I got my EMT job two years after getting my license I felt as though I forgot it all. I pulled out my study material and it helped a lot. Here it is, in the order of usefullness:

1. Brady EMS Book - By far the best book I've seen or own
2. Pass EMT-Basic Video - Good video for practical skills. Goes through everything step by step. Link Here
3. KnightLite EMS Quizzing Software - I went through all the questions multiple times, as I had free time, and they really were useful! Link Here

Honestly I really think a textbook is a great start, and I often review my own. I'm sure others can provide some good suggestions.

Again, welcome to the forum, and I hope you stick around and continue to post!

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
First, welcome to EMTLife.

Second, I would talk to the ambulance company and see what they recommend. Are you still a FF? Does your department have an EMT instructor? Where do they send your guys to become EMTs?