job hunt in the bay area

jodyjones

Forum Ride Along

i'm a new EMT-B, going to start looking for jobs in sf bay area. Any good ideas on how i should approach my application process, and what companies are likely to hire me? your feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks for looking :)

MusicMedic

Forum Captain

i'm a new EMT-B, going to start looking for jobs in sf bay area. Any good ideas on how i should approach my application process, and what companies are likely to hire me? your feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks for looking :)

Apply Anywhere and everywhere your willing to drive to... go to the companies main station, fill out and application and turn it in with copies of your certifications...

EMT's are dime a dozen right now in CA and not alot of companies are hiring right now..

Good luck

(btw have all your certifications ready BEFORE you apply)

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Move out of the state

Alas

Forum Crew Member
Not to discourage you, but its been a year since i've certified and I just scored an upcoming interview this week. Most people told me to move when i asked the same question. I've applied to most companies within the bay area, and all of them either "weren't hiring" or you were put on a waitlist to interview. Thats what they told me anyways.
But here are the companies that i've applied to or plan to apply to:
Pro-Transport, Falcon Critical Care Transport, Norcal Ambulance, American Medical Response, and Bayshore Ambulance, Royal Ambulance, and California Pacific Medical Center.
Definately try and get experience and expose yourself while jobhunting through volunteering. Take the Fema ICS 100, 200 and 700 courses online. Volunteer with SF Paramedic Association- assisting medics with their refresher course i believe, but you may learn a thing or two.