Job application before certification?

Med20

Forum Ride Along
I am an undergraduate student and am looking to work as an EMT this summer in my home state of Indiana.

I will be taking the national practical (in the state of Connecticut) and written test in a few weeks. Assuming I pass both, how long does it take for the national website to show me as EMT certified?

And how long does the reciprocity process usually take for someone applying for a state license who already has NREMT, who's certification is in a different state?

Finally, can one apply for an EMT job in a state DURING the reciprocity process?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
1: as soon as you pass the national written (computer test) you will find out in roughly 24 hours. As soon as you find out it will show you as nationally registered. You will receive stuff in the mail about 5-7 business days later.

2: going to completely depend on the state you are trying to get certified/licensed with. Could be 2 days or it could be 2 months.

2a: it's also going to depend on if said state uses the NREMT as their platform for entrance or if they have any state/county specific you need to do.

3: going to depend on the company. Some will allow it while others won't. In some areas you have to be employed before you can get a license.

TLDR: it's all going to depend on the specific state and agencies you are applying to.

OP
OP
M

Med20

Forum Ride Along
1: as soon as you pass the national written (computer test) you will find out in roughly 24 hours. As soon as you find out it will show you as nationally registered. You will receive stuff in the mail about 5-7 business days later.

2: going to completely depend on the state you are trying to get certified/licensed with. Could be 2 days or it could be 2 months.

2a: it's also going to depend on if said state uses the NREMT as their platform for entrance or if they have any state/county specific you need to do.