I need advice/help badly

Williams60601

Forum Ride Along
I’ve been a paramedic for 8 years. I’ve always worked at busy 911 services that also do 1 4+ hr transfer per 24 hr shift. We average that transfer plus 4-8 e calls. Most of my ems career, iv also had a second, slower, ems job as well. I use to love ems and strive to learn and do better. I use to enjoy coming to work. These past 2 years or so, I HATE EMS. I hate everything about it. I have zero compassion for patients. They all feel like a burden to me, no matter the age, sex or seriousness of the complaint. I’m extremely hateful minded toward the BS e calls we all love so much. I don’t show it or course, cus I need my job, but in actuality I hate them all and have no compassion for any of them. I absolutely dread going into work. I have a terrible attitude about the job with my (not to him) partner, due to my unhappiness at work. I seclud myself in my room when not on calls. My patient care doesn’t lack... I still fake compassion and provide optimal care but I just hate it all. I’d rather take a bullet to the arm than go to work (but I obviously have to work). I particularly despise working the night section of the 24s and being woken up for calls and transfers. When this happens I’m literally in the mood to strangle an entire bus of nuns.
Not really a question but WTF do I do?

ZombieEMT

Chief Medical Zombie
Premium Member
It sounds like you need to step out of EMS. You probably got involved in EMS with good intent and I am sure it was awesome at first, but that fades. For some people its not a career and its not a lifetime job. It is very easy to burn out. It looks like you have reached that point. If you think your patients dont know you are faking compassions, you are in denial. I am sure many can tell. I am sure many of your coworkers can tell. Maybe it is time to take a step back.