I am an EMT and I have a question for you. (California EMTs specifically or SD)

Yemt2016

Forum Ride Along
I have to be honest with you guys, I don't know what to expect. But, what do I loose.

I am 24 and I got a DUI infraction when I was a minor. CV 23136 (if you want to check it out)
My license was suspended for a year, but according to law enforcement since it was an infraction the charge disappears after 3 years. To be clear is not a misdemeanor or felony.

I thought about going straight to Paramedic school. However, as far as I know in San Diego you need to work as an EMT to be able to apply to Paramedic school. Any suggestions?

Do I still have a shot? or did I just waste my time
Can I at least do ride alongs I mean... ****.
I am already an EMT.
Anyways, thanks for your time guys.

PS. Emt schools should let you know if you can't qualify to be an EMT before taking the course.

Jdog

Forum Crew Member
Gonna be honest, you're gonna have a hard time finding a job at many companies. There may be a few that will overlook it and allow you to attend-only but it's pretty rare. DUIs are a deal breaker for most companies because their insurance won't cover you.

OP
OP
Y

Yemt2016

Forum Ride Along
Gonna be honest, you're gonna have a hard time finding a job at many companies. There may be a few that will overlook it and allow you to attend-only but it's pretty rare. DUIs are a deal breaker for most companies because their insurance won't cover you.

Actually tomorrow I will go to the DMV to get my driving record. What if it doesn't show up? Am I clear? or do I still have to mention it.
Thanks for the response by the way.

Jdog

Forum Crew Member
Actually tomorrow I will go to the DMV to get my driving record. What if it doesn't show up? Am I clear? or do I still have to mention it.
Thanks for the response by the way.

If it's no longer on your driving record, I see no need to bring it up. Everybody makes mistakes and hopefully you've learned from this one.

Good luck!