How to force myself to quit EMS

Foxbat

Forum Captain
I know I need to get out of EMS. Probably out of fire service also.
The reason for it is, I know I am not good at any of these two. I have been doing both for years, and I know my co-workers/co-volunteers don't trust me (in a professional sense, not in a personal). I know I am not confident at what I am doing. I am not sure how much of it is me being bad at what I am doing, and how much it is me being inconfident (the latter reinforcing the former... nice example of a positive feedback system). I keep being told things like "you are a smart guy, you just need more confidence", etc. You all know this sort of people - the ones who are booksmart but are useless when it comes to real business. That's me. Some co-workers tell me I am too soft and that's why people in the service treat me like crap, that I am not being treated fairly, that I deserve better, but it does not matter. People with low confidence, or people who are not trusted, have no place in emergency services.

Maybe I am overreacting because it's just been one of those calls when I know I did not do well. Tomorrow morning I will probably regret writing all this stuff here, which is why I am in a hurry to type it now.

I hate myself for doing something I am bad at. I hate myself for volunteering and stealing someone's job. And I hate myself for not being able to quit.