How often do you get to use your skills???

Jn1232th

Forum Captain
I've been an emt for almost 2 years now. I have worked 911 a bit with orange county fire, Laguna Beach fire and with low Angeles county fire. And so far, I have yet to drop an opa, npa, bag, or use suction on a 911 call. Every once in a while I splint, or backboard or wrap a wound. But seems like I get to use my skills more on critical care transports (where I bagged, deep suctioned, etc) than in the 911 side. Maybe it's cause fire beats us to the scene majority of the time or we arrive at same time. Also I realized majority of 911 calls don't require an ambulance, or any intervention really at all. Anyways, how often do you get to use your skills where you work???

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
I've been an emt for almost 2 years now. I have worked 911 a bit with orange county fire, Laguna Beach fire and with low Angeles county fire. And so far, I have yet to drop an opa, npa, bag, or use suction on a 911 call. Every once in a while I splint, or backboard or wrap a wound. But seems like I get to use my skills more on critical care transports (where I bagged, deep suctioned, etc) than in the 911 side. Maybe it's cause fire beats us to the scene majority of the time or we arrive at same time. Also I realized majority of 911 calls don't require an ambulance, or any intervention really at all. Anyways, how often do you get to use your skills where you work???
I think this is entirely dependent on system. I work for a rural service that is often the only paid agency on scene and we run many more calls than each of the six fire districts we respond with. As such, the ambulance crews (EMT and Paramedic) do most of the care, which includes the interventions. We are comfortable with what we do, and the same cannot always be said of the other responders (which is fine and to be expected).