How do you feel about student ride alongs?

Theraphosidae

Forum Probie
I haven't had that many yet. Seems like people are either real chill, let me play with all the toys in the back and let me actively participate or want me to be out of the way. I would gladly stay out of the way for complicated things, well aware that I'm not experienced or educated enough for quite a bit of the things we do in the field, but I can still do a lot of basic stuff!

EMT B

Forum Captain
I gladly take students. We were all there at one point or another. I will even sit there and let my students take the call. Just know that if :censored::censored::censored::censored: hits the fan you will not get to do as much until I am comfortable with your skills.

Household6

Forum Asst. Chief
Premium Member
Well I'm just a student still doing ride alongs. I learned that the Air Care pilots don't find it amusing when you flip on the batteries, fuel pumps, and lighting systems then yell out the window, "Clear the rotors, my bi+ches!!"

I argued that I still had the rotor brake engaged, and he needs to learn to take a joke. But he still banned me from the hanger until I bring him some Dairy Queen.

Mariemt

Forum Captain
We have students on our squad who do ride alongs all the time with us, but the school rules only allow them to do patient care with their contracted clinical providers. So they carry bags, write down notes for us, watch, etc. I love having them there.

mike1390

Forum Captain
Love it! But it's up to them to make the most out of it. Come with a good attitude ready to learn and ask questions and I will let you chat my ear off until you need to leave... But if you show up with a poor attitude or an "I know it all" attitude and it will be a very long silent day for you. The speak when spoken to rule will be enforced if you show up acting like a D-bag.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll