Hospital Jobs

eprex

Forum Lieutenant
This might be in the wrong section but I have some questions regarding applications to hospitals.

I'm currently in the EMT course. I realized that I have yet to put it on my resume, although I have been including it in my cover letters. Does EMS school go under education or extracurriculars/certifications?

Secondly, I have yet to get a single interview for about 20-30 applications. Unless there's something terribly wrong with my resume/cover letter I assume it's because I have no work experience with patients, only volunteer. Will adding certifications to my resume help only minimally? I know they can't hurt, but I'm wondering if it's worth $30-$200 for certs off AHA.

http://www.onlineaha.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=main.courseCatalog
http://training.fema.gov/IS/NIMS.asp

As for what jobs I'm applying to- anything with patient contact. Unfortunately, and I assume this is due to the ongoing movement towards greater efficiency and costing cutting, jobs like patient transporter are getting combined with other jobs that require experience (usually CNA, MA, phleb/ekg)

Lastly, I don't include my references on the resume. Instead I use 'References available on request'. I've been told to never give out references unless the employer actually takes an interest in me. Does anyone know if this is an automatic disqualifying for online applications? Keep in mind that online applications rarely ask for references to be provided.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Wait... So are you applying without an emt cert? That is probably your problem. Wait to send out the applications till you have your state card in hand

OP
OP
eprex

eprex

Forum Lieutenant
Wait... So are you applying without an emt cert? That is probably your problem. Wait to send out the applications till you have your state card in hand