Horse show wants to hire me for their events. Legalities?

Kdul92

Forum Ride Along
Hi all! I am a brand new EMT-B, just signed on as a volunteer with my local fire dept and have been certified since September. I have been a lifelong equestrian and the owner of the barn where I board my horse is also on the committee of a large horse show association. She has asked to hire me as a standby EMT for their shows this summer, paying $700 per weekend. She says I would need to carry liability insurance (obviously) and my own bag. Now all of this sounds great, and I know that they have a standby EMT every year as well as many other horse shows I have attended. However when I spoke to my EMT instructor about this he said I would not be under any medical control and therefore cannot do it. Does anyone have any experience with this kind of scenario? Legalities? If I provide my own insurance and equipment, would I be permitted to provide standby care?

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
The short answer: You can't freelance as an EMT.

I own a company that provides event EMS services, and while I'm in Georgia, the rules are similar.

The minute you start charging for the service, all the rules change. And if you have anyone else helping you, it becomes an even bigger ball of wax.

For $700 per event, she should be able to hire a local stand by crew that has operational authority, medical direction, training and equipment.

It sounds enticing, but I'd stay away. Every thing could go totally fine... right up until it doesn't and then it's bad, bad news.

Here's a thing. Approach a local agency and tell them you have a contact that wants to spend x number of dollars for EMS standby and that you'd be interested in working for them. That way, you'll get an EMS job and help out your friend with legitimate EMS coverage.

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief
She has asked to hire me as a standby EMT for their shows this summer, paying $700 per weekend.