High School Classes for Paramedic School? (URGENT)

MarilynEagle

Forum Crew Member
I am a junior in high school right now and I am taking an EMT-B class through a local education program. After high school my goal is to attend paramedic school and get an associates degree. My current GPA is about 2.95 and I've taken all of the core classes required so far (biology, sociology, physical science, geometry, algebra 2, etc.) with some random electives (such as quite a few art courses, psychology, and journalism). My options for next year for science are Forensics, Zoology, Environmental Science, ChemCom, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics, Human Anatomy 1 & 2 (not AP). I have not taken any foreign language classes yet. I took the ACT practice test and my score was estimated at 24-26. I am taking the actual one in the next few months. I plan on working part time as an EMT my senior year when I am 18 to get some experience as well.

I wish I would have discovered my interest in being a paramedic earlier, because now I am a bit worried I have not developed the most appealing transcript for paramedic school. Are paramedic schools super picky? Should I even try at this point because I haven't loaded up on science classes? Or if you think I have a chance, what classes should I register for my senior year? I have room for about 6 or 7 classes.

Thanks for your time! I eagerly await your recommendations! :)

OnceAnEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
I have never applied to a paramedic program, let alone to one within a college system, but I've also never heard of such a program scrutinizing a high school transcript. Even GPA. There is a reason that the GED is accepted as an equivalent to the High School Diploma, and that is because High School is a check box on the road to starting your career.