Helping a newcomer create a good outline for narratives

hanziiah

Forum Ride Along
I'm a very very new EMT and I recently had my first training shift and was given some homework to create 2 sample narratives.. I was wondering if anyone had some good outlines they usually go by in their reports so I can get a feeling for the right amount of information necessary in a narrative.. Thanks!

SandpitMedic

Crowd pleaser
Welcome.
This is not EMS related news.
Post in the correct area, please.

Thank you.

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
Moved to Education and Training.

planetmike

Forum Lieutenant
I like using the DCHARTE method. Each letter gets a paragraph of detail about the call. Each letter is roughly in chronologic order.
D: Dispatch information: What were you sent to? What units. Lights and siren? Where did you go? Where did you find the patient?
C: Chief complaint: usually one sentence, in the patient's own words, put inside quotes.
H: History: History of both this specific medical problem or traumatic event. Include also patient history, such as allergies, medications, surgeries, illnesses, etc...
A: Assessment: How old is the patient? A&O? ABCs? on scene vital signs? Other assessment details. Answers to any questions you asked the patient.
R: tReatments: Any treatments you performed. At the BLS level, this may be quite brief.
T: Transport: Did the patient want to be taken to a facility for further assessment and treatment? How did the pt get from where you found them to the ambulance? How were they secured? How did you get the pt to the hospital (lights and siren)? What happened during transport? Vital signs were taken? Pt was monitored? And treatments? Was hospital contact made by radio/cell phone? On arrival, where was the patient left (ED room bed, triage, hall bed)? Document the report you gave to whoever at the ED. Care was transferred.
E: Exceptions: Anything odd that happened. Example: Reason pt couldn't sign forms. Pt refused backboarding.