Help with Reciprocity

Frenchie

Forum Ride Along
Going from Canada to the USA

Hello,

I am a Primary Care Paramedic from Ontario Canada. I have been looking into working in another country - however I am encountering difficulty in the reciprocity process. My first and foremost dream is to work for the FDNY as a Paramedic(second is a Paramedic in the london ambulance service), now I know my scope as a PCP will only afford me the position of EMT-B/I -even with two years of college education, but just to work there is what I'm after! I make enough money investing to support myself in Manhatten - and Im in the process of applying for a working visa - so don't need help/advice with that. I have called our Ministry of Health, but they only deal with those coming into Canada, I have called the reciprocity board for the DOH in NYC - but they only deal with inter-state emt's. No one knows who to call or how to make it happen?! I even called the NREMT, but they can't help - besides FDNY doesn't accept NREMT reciprocity only. To make an already long story short I need help for anyone who knows something about this process, without me going back to school and/or taking a degrading emt weekend course... I am, however considering taking the Paramedic course at one of the colleges in NYC - but still need a NYC emt-B+ status as minimum requirement. Please help me!

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I can help you.

NYS DOH is the authority in NY state and they do not take Canadian reciprocity. If they did, they would have told you when you called.

The answer is to take the NYS EMT-B class. I am sorry. There is no way around it. Its only a 3 month class. Than you can roll right into any one of the community college paramedic program. If you volunteer in NYS, you won't even have to pay for it. Once you have the EMT, you can apply to FDNY. I am not sure if they require citizenship or not.