good way to start a conversation w/ patient

Naota_X

Forum Crew Member
hi im a newbie and the company i work for does mostly transports all day and i not really very talkative to begin with but i was just wondering what are a few things you say to your patients to get them talking with you because the guys that are mentoring me dont really talk with them much either thanks for any advice in advance

medicRob

Forum Deputy Chief
hi im a newbie and the company i work for does mostly transports all day and i not really very talkative to begin with but i was just wondering what are a few things you say to your patients to get them talking with you because the guys that are mentoring me dont really talk with them much either thanks for any advice in advance

Usually if it is an older man, I will say something along the lines of "What is a young man like you doin hitchin a ride with the Tenn care taxi?"

The key is, don't try too hard... just strike up conversations with them. For instance, sometimes "Hello, my name is Rob, can you tell me any issues you may be having" is all it takes..

Melclin

Forum Deputy Chief
I hear you

One of my pet hates is small talk. I love quality conversation over a beer more than anything else, but conversation with no purpose s**ts me something fierce. If it doesn't happen by itself, I've no interest in forcing it.

But I think conversation with patients is immensely important to building a rapport, alleviating anxiety and facilitating better communication of important info. So I've had to learn how to create conversation.

Obviously I'm still very much a student and I've got a lot to learn but here are some of the things I try.

In general I try to use my questions aimed at the social/nutritional/psychological/family history to create conversation that is both good for the pt and good for my history. Eg,

"You had a stent 4 weeks ago did you? And what hospital was that at? Oh yes the nurses their are good aren't they."