Good Samaritan Laws

HTVEMS11

Forum Ride Along
I'm currently training to become an EMT and way back we covered how EMT's fall under protection from good Samaritan laws.What exactly do these laws cover for EMT's.The book I'm currently studying issued by my course gives a faint definition and I would like an expanding answer on how these laws protect EMT's and how these laws work.

Last edited by a moderator:

JPINFV

Gadfly
What state are you in?

EMS Patient Care Advocate

Forum Lieutenant
I'm currently training to become an EMT and way back we covered how EMT's fall under protection from good Samaritan laws.What exactly do these laws cover for EMT's.The book I'm currently studying issued by my course gives a faint definition and I would like an expanding answer on how these laws protect EMT's and how these laws work.

I think by most standards we (EMTs) are no longer considered good Samaritans. We are licensed professions expected to work within guidelines and protocols and perform to a certain scope of care with the equipment available (just one States chopped wording). Different States have different expectations legally speaking for protecting off duty EMTs and other medical trained people. Some mandate you stop and render care if trained or be subject to fines if you dont stop. To others that give you options not to stop and render care but understand the huge amount of responsibility and liability involved for doing so. Depending how your EMS system is organized, providing any care outside your licensing service when off duty, may by definition mean you are practicing without a license. You will need to get specifics out of your state. Then make a moral decision on how you would handle and what risks you are willing to take.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
If you are being paid to act at the time you are not under Good Sam