Give me your thoughts

futuremedic99

Forum Ride Along
Ok, well I'm new to this lol. But I am a student in high school. I am going to school to be a paramedic. I have my bls and am currently taking an EMR class. Anyway I'm writing an essay on stress for EMS personnel. I was wondering if I could have some thoughts. Effective stress management preventatives and techniques. Thank you.
-Maria

VentMonkey

Family Guy
What DE said, OP. I like your enthusiasm, but maybe get your EMT see if you like it then decide if you want to continue on to paramedic.

I'm all for high schooler having goals, but take your essay seriously. It is a good topic to write a paper on, and a very serious (probably more so than any book will ever emphasize) reality to this job.

OP
OP
futuremedic99

futuremedic99

Forum Ride Along
I'm all for high schooler having goals, but take your essay seriously. It is a good topic to write a paper on, and a very serious reality to this job.[/QUOTE]
Of course. The toll stress has on EMS personnel is very serious. I am taking this essay very serious also. I wasn't trying to offend anyone.. I am excited about my future and the career that I am going for. Just trying to get as much facts and sources for it, as I can. But I will probably stay an emt for a while until I feel I am very comfortable and then continue my education up to paramedic.

VentMonkey

Family Guy
I wasn't trying to offend anyone.
Oh, you didn't offend anyone; you asked for our thoughts, and these are them:).

My high school days are long removed, and you'll find many of the more seasoned EMS folks tend to be very direct; particularly the paramedics, it comes with time. Think, some are old enough to be your parents.

That said, always do your best for your patients.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Really, as a EMS provider, you need to take care of yourself as well as you care for your patients.