Getting EMT-B cert for Firefighting?

FuManChu

Forum Crew Member
Hi all.
I am new to this forum, and I am new to the whole EMT thing as well.
I am a junior in high school, and have about a year left before I graduate.
Im not planning on going to college to get a degree, but I am thinking about pursuing a career in Emergency medicine and Firefighting.
I just have a few questions. How long are the courses usually for becoming an EMT-B. Also, I am not the greatest at math, would that hurt me at EMT training?
My idea after high school is, get EMT-B certified, work on a BLS ambulance for a little bit, then apply for a Firefighting position.
What do you think? I know some departments require more than that, but with some of the research I did, I might be ok. But if you have any suggestions im all ears.
Basically Im just asking for some guidance and tips for becoming an EMT-B to Firefighter.
Thanks a lot everyone.
-Anthony

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
EMT-B training, done through a community college, is a semester in length, typically 2 nights a week.

There is very little math involved in EMT-B programs. If you decide to up your certification to the Paramedic level, there IS more math.

Without knowing where you live, we can't comment on your plan. Some FDs will hire you without EMT, some will hire you with it, and some will not hire you unless you're a paramedic.

OP
OP
FuManChu

FuManChu

Forum Crew Member
Without knowing where you live, we can't comment on your plan. Some FDs will hire you without EMT, some will hire you with it, and some will not hire you unless you're a paramedic.

I am living in California.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
EMTs in CA are a penny a dozen. Hope you have something good to offer to an FD

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Do you think courses in Fire Science would help a lot?

Would I have time fore these courses while working as an EMT?