Football EMS Standby

hops19

Forum Probie
All, I tried to do a search, but I didn't find much on the message board. And what I did find was more than a few years old...

First off, I'm not an EMT. I'm an Athletic Trainer. We have been given permission to contract with our local fire department to provide EMS Standby for Varsity Football games. What I'd like to hear from you is any kind of expectations y'all have as EMS showing up to our games? And anything in particular we should expect from the EMS? I do know that we will have a dedicated ALS unit onsite with two paramedics on board. They won't be leaving to respond to 911 calls.

Most games we will have two Licensed Athletic Trainers on our home sideline. Plus we normally have our orthopedic surgeon and a PCP. Almost always will we have one of the two. I plan to provide the paramedics with a stadium radio and the department will be provided with our Varsity Football Emergency Action Plan, once it gets revised this spring/summer.

Anything else that I should consider? Anything that I should be letting them know of ahead of time? Other thoughts?...

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
You have two physicians, including a surgeon, at high school football games?...

For all the high school games I've done, all we ever did was stage outside of the track and get waved in if needed. A radio would be great, but where we typically staged it wasn't needed.

If you have players with medical conditions, it would help to have easy access to that information. You don't need to give a list to the medics, as they wont likely be that involved. But have one handy for yourself in case someone goes down, then just pass on the info to the medics.

OP
OP
H

hops19

Forum Probie