First job interview with EMSA

toeknee

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT-B preparing for an interview with EMSA in Tulsa. If there is any advice of what to expect, tips, or things about EMSA I'd greatly appreciate the help!

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
I am an EMT-B preparing for an interview with EMSA in Tulsa. If there is any advice of what to expect, tips, or things about EMSA I'd greatly appreciate the help!

Be ready for Kool-Aid. Kool-Aid Kool-Aid!

Fish

Forum Deputy Chief
Very structured, very busy, very strict. Will be good experience as you move on to Paramedic

Fish

Forum Deputy Chief
That sounds good to me. Do you know if they test you when you interview?

I have no idea, I have never worked there. I have a friend who does. It is a hard place for a Medic to work, they are always playing politics with the FD. They are driven by their protocol book, and do not allow for thinking. He has been a Medic there two years, he thinks it is a good start for an EMTB though.

RocketMedic

I have no idea, I have never worked there. I have a friend who does. It is a hard place for a Medic to work, they are always playing politics with the FD. They are driven by their protocol book, and do not allow for thinking. He has been a Medic there two years, he thinks it is a good start for an EMTB though.

From a new guy there, this. So this.

That being said, it's a high-volume EMS system with better pay than some.
Have you looked at the tribal EMS? Tribes often have higher pay.

OP
OP
T

toeknee

Forum Ride Along
Good to know! Thanks for all the info! I just moved here from Louisiana so I've never heard of the Tribal ems.

bigbaldguy

Former medic seven years 911 service in houston
Congrats

Are they still offering sign on bonuses for out of state Paramedics?

RocketMedic