First Aid at School

AnthonyM83

Forum Asst. Chief
The other thread about calling EMS to schools prompted this post:

I'm a teacher aide for an elementary school where i often do playground supervision.
Since starting EMT school, I've been a bit confused as to how seriously I should treat playground injuries.

Just like when I was in school, kids fall all the time, their heads bounce on the cement like bouncing balls, necks fall in funny twisted positions, kids fall from the play structure hitting several metal bars on the way down.

They usually get right back up and keep running, get up crying, or stay still for awhile b/c they can't move and they can't tell where it specifically hurts, but then they get up and keep going.

First thing I think in these cases is, "Aahh, hold C-spine!!!" But it'd be ridiculous to hold c-spine on every case where there's obvious head/neck impact that LOOKS bad at first. I'd be doing it every few days and anyway they're not going to go the hospital even if I do hold it.

Also, if I'm helping them in the capacity as a teacher, not an EMT who was called to the scene, would I still be held liable for not following a county protocol and holding c-spine IF something bad were to happen? Anyone have suggestions?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
As a teacher you would not hold c-spine. As a teacher you would instruct the student not to move while you sent someone to call EMS.

My cousin fell off the swing back in elementary school. This is back in the late 80s. The lunch monitors panicked and told him not to move and called 911. The ambulance showed up and did their whole deal.

The lunch monitors had no real reason to call 911, but some student said something that panicked them, and they called for an ambulance.