Feeling frisky

Nevadacass

Forum Ride Along
I'm currently a FP that's has been feeling an itch for something more. I work in a busy rural(oxymoron I know). I have five years of experience, all the alphabet soup certs and a college degree.

I have been looking into Middle East contracts. Few questions for the masses.
1. The Middle East isn't known for being the most friendly to women. Is this a down side for paramedics?
2. Would another class over TCCC benefit me?

I have scoured over the pages to see if anyone has answered these within the past 2 years. New information would be amazing.

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT

Operations Guy

Supreme Overlord
There are jobs over there. All of the high-speed shoot them up TCCC stuff gose to ex military and is way beyond what they teach in some community college program.
I know of plenty of woman who work overseas. Most of it is not what you imagine. The draw of it is the pay. However when it's cheaper to hire South Africans who are way more educated then most US Paramedics, companies will go with South Africans unless the contract says US personel only. There are flight medevac companies out there but they are very strict on their hiring.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Where and with whom are or have you been looking?
What is of most interest?
What is absolutely of no interest?
Are you looking for flight medic only?

And yes, women are needed...who do you think takes care of the women?

OP
OP
Nevadacass

Nevadacass

Forum Ride Along
Iraq and Afghanistan predominantly. Companies such as Remote Medical, CHS and International SOS.
Least interest in being a glorified tech. Don't mind hospital setting but I would like to occasionally use my medic skills.
Doesn't have to be flight medic.

And yes, I understand that women take care of women...

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief