Etoh?

dillan

Forum Ride Along
I'm an EMT-B volunteer, with a non paying/non charging service. Had a call to the local tavern with an elderly (85'ish) M who had fallen off his bar stool. Upon arrival pt was supine. Placed C-colllar and log rolled on to LBB. Loaded and transported. He is also one of the town drunks and a pervert. My question is "Was is necessary to complete a full trauma assessment?" Also, the guy is trying to grope 2 females in the back.

NJN

The Young One
It probably was not necessary, but i cannot tell for sure due to me not knowing every thing that happened. In my point of view its a gray area It is justifiable that he was put on a LSB, for various reasons including but not limited to covering your own and other reasons due to he actions described in the back of the rig.

And, *cough* ADMIN, shouldn't this be in the EMS Talk section, as it isn't a question about the Forum.

Last edited by a moderator:

IrishMedic

Forum Crew Member
as much as it is annoying and even with the hx this guy has (according to you) every pt in my opinion deserves the same treatment. the only hx we shud be interested is medical hx and the event that caused the injury. i can see your frustration though being a vollie, i respect that so much....but just remember you cud run on this guy and not give him e the full work up only to discover in the ED that he had a Fx or H/I and then ur up the creek without a paddle cos you didnt treat appropriately man..my advice give everyone the full up that they need

karaya

EMS Paparazzi
Premium Member
Drunk or not or even the town perv, standard of care should always apply. And remember, in a crowded bar there are witnesses to your care.

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper
Indeed, i have had patients swing on me and after the PD restrained tehm i still provided care for (her) the way i would anyone else.

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief
Difficult patients.....