ER Staff Attitudes

Alexakat

Forum Lieutenant
I'm interested to know if others experience poor attitudes with their ER staff...& to what extent.

For example, when bringing in a patient, a nurse questions your treatment...("Why is he on 15 LPM? <that's our protocol>", "Why didn't you start an IV?" <I'm BLS>). How about when they do it in front of the crew, patient, family or other ED staff that may be standing around?

I've experienced this on many occasions...in addition to the dirty looks we get every time we wheel someone in to the ED---like they're saying "Why do you keep bringing us work!?!?!?!?" I'm sorry, but if a patient calls 911 & we respond & they want to go to the hospital, that's what we do <whether or not I personally feel as though they're probably OK, if they want to go, THEY GO!>.

I am not the most assertive person in the world & I'm still relatively new to EMS, so I have a hard time with this...

Any thoughts...or stories to share?

Last edited by a moderator:

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I have gotten a bad attitude but never any unnecessary questioning. The ER nurses are very familiar with what BLS and ALS can and can't do. The only time I have been question is on calls that should have gone ALS but due to extraordinary conditions went BLS.

If you can get to know the nurses. Become friends with them.

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief