EMT Wrist Watch - Requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

EMT From Israel

Forum Ride Along
Hi All,

I'm a volunteer EMT in Israel, and very new to this forum. Found it by googling "watches for EMT" - since I started going to cases, I feel like my regular watch doesn't cut it. I was looking for something thin, with a large screen, not too many holes and slots where body fluids can accumulate, etc. I want to create a basic EMT watch, one that serves the purpose, but cheap enough to be easily replaced.

I'd like to get your opinions on what would be the most important thing in a watch you wear to work. My basic ones are:

- Silycon/rubber strap - easily washable
- Flat
- Analogue, with seconds hand
- stopper and light options
- sturdy enough to withstand scratches
- minimal design, nothing to distract from the main functions

What do you think of additional functionality like adding the option to easily write down vitals on the strap? Or having some other additional info on the watch itself?

Appreciate any feedback!

Aprz

The New Beach Medic
I think the problem with going into this market is that a $5-$10 watch already does an excellent job (not easily broken/damaged, usually rubber that is easy to clean, clearly shows the time, has a light to see the time in dark places). If people write notes during calls, they put a cloth tape on their pants, write on their glove, or they write on a notepad they carry with them. I imagine there would be too little space to write on a watch and it wouldn't be flat enough.

I personally used to buy this watch

6Q2g32e.jpg

It was like $10 usd at Walmart. It wasn't even worth it to buy new batteries for it when it died; I would just buy a new watch.

I eventually stopped wearing watches because the monitors I used had timers on them that I would use instead. I just look in the upper right hand corner of my Philip's HeartStart MRx and I am good to go for doing a manual pulse, drips, or counting the duration of something.