EMT Student SAMPLE AND OPQRST help ?

Jesus A

Forum Ride Along
Hey everyone , Now im studying respiratory emergencies and cardiovascular emergencies . And and I would some expericience shared om how to asses patient with respitatory distress and cardiovascular problems. As you arrive on the scene , what are some questiom you ask for respiratory and cardio vascular . They have similar symptom ; how can you differ them ?

Thank you !!!:cool:

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
For SOB/ breathing problems I like to use PASTE. P- presentation (sudden or acute). A- associating chest pain. S- sputum production/color. T- talking (words per breath). E- exercise tolerance. I'll throw in more questions as I find necessary.

For chest pain I'll usually go down OPQRST and dig deeper with the responses. As before Ill throw in more questions as I find necessary.

Aprz

The New Beach Medic
SAMPLE is a set of questions you are pretty much going to ask all patients; it's not specific for any type of emergency.

S - Sign & symptoms
A - Allergies
M - Medications
P - Past medical history (PMH)
L - Last oral intake
E - Events leading up to EMS being activated.

Signs & symptoms Signs are objective findings that the provider can see, hear, smell, etc. Examples of signs are: lacerations, cyanosis, accessory muscle use. Symptoms are subjective findings (subjective for the patient), it's what the patient tells you. Example of symptoms are "I have chest pain", "I feel short of breath", "I'm dizzy". To clarify something, what you hear is objective, but it's not consider a symptom always. Symptoms are what the patient tells you, it's what is subjective to the patient. An example of something you'd hear that is objective and not subjective is wheezing.