EMT Oath- My problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedGood

Forum Crew Member
I am getting ready to graduate from a 2 year paramedic program in May. We are the first year this Community College has had an associate program and I am assuming there will be about 15 of us to graduate. We are having a pinning ceremony separate from the main college walk-the-stage graduation.
My teacher has posted the EMT Oath. For those of you who don't know what this is:

Be it pledged as an Emergency Medical Technician, I will honor the physical and judicial laws of God and man. I will follow that regimen which, according to my ability and judgment, I consider for the benefit of my patients and abstain from whatever is deleterious and mischievous, nor shall I suggest any such counsel. Into whatever home I enter, I will go into them for the benefit of only the sick and injured, never revealing what I see or hear in the lives of men.

I shall also share my medical knowledge with those who may benefit from what I have learned. I will serve unselfishly and continuously in order to help make a better world for all mankind.

While I continue to keep this oath unviolated, may it be granted to me to enjoy life, and the practice of the art, respected by all men, in all times. Should I trespass or violate this oath, may the reverse be my lot. So help me God.

Written by Charles B. Gillespie, M.D.; Albany, Georgia