EMT employment for 18 y/o

9D4

Forum Asst. Chief
Hey all.
So I've ran into a dilemma as far as getting an EMT job. I'm in a high school EMT class (all the students attend a high school during the day, then go to EMT at night, paid for by scholarships).
That being said I'm only 18 years old. I was told by all of our instructors, who are all 'medics and firefighters, and they said that ambo's don't hire until 21, unless you get a medic cert.
They recommended ER techs to all of us, but the hospitals I've talked to won't hire until you have a year's experience. Any one know how to get this year's experience, since I'm not old enough to work on an ambo?
I'm also getting my phlebotomy cert in May, when I graduate high school, so long as I pass the registry, so worst case scenario is I work as a phlebotomist.
I want to go to 'medic school though, but before that I'd like to be a somewhat experienced EMT. I don't see how you can be a good paramedic, before you've even worked the basics. So, any help is appreciated!
If it matters, I'm in Maricopa county, Arizona.
Edit: I finish EMT in less than a month. Can I get a job, if I can figure out where, before I have a high school diploma?

Last edited by a moderator:

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Hey all.
So I've ran into a dilemma as far as getting an EMT job. I'm in a high school EMT class (all the students attend a high school during the day, then go to EMT at night, paid for by scholarships).
That being said I'm only 18 years old. I was told by all of our instructors, who are all 'medics and firefighters, and they said that ambo's don't hire until 21, unless you get a medic cert.
They recommended ER techs to all of us, but the hospitals I've talked to won't hire until you have a year's experience. Any one know how to get this year's experience, since I'm not old enough to work on an ambo?