EMT-B Malpractice Insurance / Liability Insurance for the EMT.

EMTzimp

Forum Probie
Hi, I'm an EMT-B in Orange County, CA. I am currently work for an ambulance company and am looking for another job to do on the side... so, i started looking at Special Event companies... I got a company to make me a job offer but then they told me I have to have Malpractice / Liability Insurance. Is this true? What are your thoughts about it?

Any insurance companies you would recommend? (any idea of cost?)

Is it really worth it for me to do this job for $11 bucks an hour....?

Thanks for your Help!

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
EMTzimp

EMTzimp

Forum Probie
Admin: I started this thread but later found the some helpful answers in other threads... Feel free to remove this if you'd like!

EMSLaw

Legal Beagle
HSPO has policies. I ran through the quick quote, and it seems like it's about $140 for a full-time EMT-B. That's for a $1M/$3M policy. Depending on your circumstances, it might be less.

www.hspo.com.

As for worth it... well, it's not a bad deal. I pay a lot less, but I'm a volunteer, and only EMT part time, so there you go.

OP
OP
EMTzimp

EMTzimp

Forum Probie
EMSLaw: Thanks for the help man! Yeah, i have seen quite a few people mention HPSO. I'm thinkin thats the company to go with....

OP
OP
EMTzimp

EMTzimp

Forum Probie
EMS-Rabbit:
I thought it was employers responsibility to... But I guess its just a small event company and they said I should have my own insurance if I want to work there....

EMSLaw

Legal Beagle
Your employer doubtless has to be insured. But if you are providing EMT services at an event, depending on the particular arrangement, you could be doing it as an independent contractor, in which case, you would have to provide for all of your own expenses (and pay your own taxes).