EMS Internship Spain

Michael DAmato

Forum Ride Along
Hi, im a college student from UW-Madison. Im trying to find any information on working or interning as an EMT abroad, specifically Spain. I have scoured google and not found much about do short stints as an EMT abroad, I found one in Peru, but it wasn't typical EMS ambulance work, it was in a clinic. Will my certification transfer over to Spain's version of EMT certification? Would private ambulance companies or hospitals even hire an Abroad EMT? My Spanish is pretty good, not perfect, but I can hold a conversation.
Any information on a short (4-6 month) EMT stint abroad would be helpful.
Thanks

Giant81

Forum Lieutenant
I'm sorry I can't help you with the internship question. I just stopped to say hi to a fellow cheesehead. I work in Madison.

Underoath87

Forum Asst. Chief
These sorts of programs are not common. Especially not in countries with first responders trained to a much higher level than our EMT-B.

hometownmedic5

Forum Asst. Chief
I'm not an expert in anything, and certainly not in ExPat EMS; but a brief stint on google seems to show that since 2007, the standards have been higher than prior to that. I can't find and actual line by line comparison, but generally it would seem the lowest ranking person on an ambulance has at least intermediate level training. I would also wonder how much work there is for the bottom of the barrel guy in a system on the rise, training wise; not to mention somebody challenging reciprocity based on international training.

I'm not the guy that can say it's impossible, but from what little I've read I'd be pretty surprised to hear you pulled it off.