Dual Paramedic v. Medic/Basic

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Hey everyone! First off, I'm new to the forum, found this site yesterday and became addicted.^_^ There are some GREAT perspectives on here that I look forward to hearing; and I apologize in advance if I excessively pick your brains ;)

Okay, on to the topic. I work for two companies. I'm a firefighter/paramedic for a major city with fairly archaic protocols, extremely short transport times, and, sadly, a lot of poor medics (which partly explains our laughable protocols). The other service I work for is an EMS only system that covers ~250miles with 4 units and a roaming unit, pretty progressive protocols (for this region at least), transport times ranging from 5-60min, and some very talented (in my opinion) and driven paramedics. Both systems ride two paramedics on the box. As these are the only two companies I've worked for, this is what I'm accustomed to and can't imagine riding with a basic partner. However, I also know that we're the only two companies in the region that do this.

So my question is: What is everybody's thoughts on riding dual medics v. medic/basic? Pros and cons?

edit: Probably would've been better placed in the EMS Talk thread, as to gain more Basic's perspective also...

Last edited by a moderator:

SanDiegoEmt7

Forum Captain
From a basics perspective

It depends... I've worked in two different systems, both of which ran medic/basic.

In San Diego a great many fire fighters are medics. On a typical engine, the captain, the engineer, and one or both FFs can be medics. Engines are dispatched in addition to the ambulance on any level 1 or 2 call, so the medic has plenty of assistance on scene and to the hospital if needed.