Drug screening for EMS cert/school

CaptainJeanLucPicard

Forum Ride Along
Dear forum,

I'm thinking about becoming an EMT. I'm also a regular marijuana smoker. I smoke mostly as a sleep-aid before I go to sleep, as I suffer from moderate insomnia. I also use recreationally sometimes on my own time, when I don't have to work (I'm a pharmacy technician). I don't use any other drugs (except LSD, once or twice, but nothing addictive or dangerous; e.g. cocaine, heroin, etc). What is your experience or knowledge about being/becoming an EMT while using marijuana? Do you need to take a drug screening test to get certified or enter and EMT-school? I live in south NJ, and would plan on attending Camden County College's EMT program, if that helps at all.

Also, please don't jump down my throat about 'using' while being an EMT. I'm not a junkie, I don't depend on any substances, and I'm not addicted to anything. It doesn't interfere with the rest of my life. I don't go to work high, nor do I feel the 'need' to get high all the time.

Thanks for your input.

thatJeffguy

Forum Lieutenant
I've never known any college to require a pre-admission drug test. My work in hospitals has always been conditional to a pre-employment, random, and post-accident drug test. I have no problem with people smoking marijuana, you've just got to decide if you want to risk cheating a drug test at least once, and possibly more, times versus your career. If you're really into smoking pot, move to California, get a prescription and be covered. I'm not going to tell you how to cheat a drug test, though. Best of luck.

Sasha

Forum Chief
They may not screen you to get in, but if someone suspects you are using marijuana they mgiht ask for drug screen. Also many employers do pre-employment drug screen and random drug screens.

Marijuana is a drug. It's illegal to use it in most cases. There are LEGAL things you can take to help you sleep.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member