Driving Licenses/Certifications?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Yesterday we transported an older man home from the hospital. He asked if I was the ambulance driver. I told him that I was an EMT, but ultimately said "Yeah, Im going to be driving the ambulance."

In Michigan there is no required training to drive an ambulance. Ambulance driving is not part of a regular EMS program, just pointers included in the EMS textbook. Is this weird to anyone?

You need a special certification to drive a taxi, but not to drive an ambulance?

rescuecpt

Community Leader Emeritus
Yeah, in NY, there is no special requirement - each Department sets its own rules. Same for Firetrucks.

In my FD, the "rule" is that you need to have be 21, take the department ambulance orientation plus EVOC (Emergency Vehicle Operator's Cert) or department driver training cert. Of course there are a couple people who are grandfathered in because they've been driving the ambulance since before I could walk, and they do a pretty good job on it.

In the ambulance corps you have to be 21 and go through driver training and a certain number of lights & sirens calls with an instructor present.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
Originally posted by rescuelt@Jul 11 2004, 06:27 PM
Yeah, in NY, there is no special requirement - each Department sets its own rules. Same for Firetrucks.

In my FD, the "rule" is that you need to have be 21, take the department ambulance orientation plus EVOC (Emergency Vehicle Operator's Cert) or department driver training cert. Of course there are a couple people who are grandfathered in because they've been driving the ambulance since before I could walk, and they do a pretty good job on it.

In the ambulance corps you have to be 21 and go through driver training and a certain number of lights & sirens calls with an instructor present.
Our program is identical to yours.

OP
OP
MMiz

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader