Votes: 1 9.1%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • dont care

Votes: 1 9.1%

• Total voters

shorthairedpunk

Forum Lieutenant
I am no lawyer, the majority of my legal experience has been as a defendant, but I have a situation where my abusive employer has commited what I think may be criminal against an ex coworker.

Their defense on this will be that it is all sour grapes, which may be so, but nonetheless I think this is criminal in nature.

Here is the rundown:

I will call my ex co worker mike. We work for an ambulance service.

Mike was fired for poor performance, which is understandable. But during the course of employment we were required to purchase uniform shirts on our own. I took the logo to a local print shop and had them make up multiple shirts which I resold at cost to my coworkers.

After his termination Mike still has his shirts, which he purchased with his own money, to which i will attest. The logo on the shirts is non trademarked or copyrighted. The EMS insignia "Star of Life" is not official in that it does not have embroidered edges.

My employers contention is that Mike should return his shirts, to which he refuses. I dont blame him, they are his real property, they have no right to them. Even the implication od medical personell impersonation is voided in that there are FDNY shirts, etc commecially available.

When Mike went to retrieve his final paycheck, the manager refused to give it to him until he returned the shirts. He contacted the Illinois Department of Labor, who fowarded his call to a person who informed him that they could not legally withold his paycheck. They sent him forms to fill out to retrieve his pay. In the meantime, Mike informed The service what he was told and they did give him his check immediately.