Did my ambulance rotation, just have a small issue.

HemOnc

Forum Probie
This may be long, but I encourage you all to read it! :D

Hey guys, I recently did my ambulance rotation for my EMT Course, and I have to say, it was pretty interesting. Had a few calls during the day, nothing too crazy.

I'm a young high school student, to start off with. Coming into the EMS office at the Hospital, I was expecting a lot of people there to be leaving or just getting on their shifts. My issue was that every paramedic/AEMT there was constantly trash talking other staff members, even an instructor I knew. They called her a w!ore, and kept ridiculing how she was, etc. This was only like 3 guys, who I was next to in the computer room. They were constantly swearing. One of the things that angered me the most, was that one medic commented on a young patient he had, and said that she was hot, and then later mentioned that he would act upon her, etc. I understand he has his own opinions, but he should at least be considerate of the fact that there is a STUDENT sitting down right next to him....And listening to all the crap that has been said already....

I had a really sarcastic medic I worked with, and one EMT. He tried to teach me when he could....(He was In his 60s I would say). When we were in the ER, he got cocky in ER when he was chatting with his other coworkers, and then called me a *(Insert F-word)* idiot. He said it because one of the Medics asked if he was actually not being rude to me...And I guess he wanted to prove that he could be rude. I understand he may have been joking around and all, but he should be aware that comments like this can be taken offensively.