Denver Health P-School

captaindepth

Forum Lieutenant
Just wondering if any one has an opinion on Denver Health's paramedic school. How would you compare sweedish vs. DH? I've heard DH will hire top students from their paramedic program, any truth to that? Im a full time EMT for springs AMR and have gotten tons of great 911 experience, time to take the next step. Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
I chose Swedish over DH. Yes, DH has a reputation for potentially hiring new medics from their own program and not considering new grads from others, but I wasn't interested in working for them. Basically, the instruction is better at Swedish, but the internship experience is more consistently higher volume through DH. Swedish will potentially place you with a high volume station (West Metro Station 1), but you can also end up a bit slower with somewhere like North Washington. I've heard some horror stories about instructors not showing up at the Denver Health program and class time being a bit of a waste in some cases. I can't complain. I loved the Swedish program, and I had a good experience with my internship. Dennis is an outstanding teacher and a wealth of knowledge, and I'd recommend Swedish just to interact with him. Both medical directors are quite active with the Swedish Program as well. We frequently worked with them during ED clinicals and even had several shifts scheduled shadowing them specifically.

Feel free to PM me if you'd like any other details. I obviously know more about the HealthOne program, but I'll offer up whatever I can.

Flightorbust

Forum Lieutenant
have you checked out PPCC? From what I was told the medic program is also 1 of 3 in the country chosen as a pilot program for teaching RSI to medic students. Its close and since you work with AMR you can do your intern with a medic you already know.

OP
OP
captaindepth

captaindepth

Forum Lieutenant